Skip To Main Content

Music

A Place to Excel

Music at Canford enjoys a high profile within the busy school life. We hope that when pupils leave Canford they will continue to pursue their music-making independently having gained sufficient skills whilst at school to enable them to sing in choirs, play in bands or orchestras or just to enjoy playing at home as a hobby. For some, further professional training will beckon and we know that the rounded and high-level musical education provided at Canford will also prove an excellent foundation for a music degree or a Conservatoire course.

The Music department welcomes musicians of all abilities who have enthusiasm to learn. All those who learn an orchestral or band instrument are encouraged to join an appropriate ensemble in this lively, ambitious and successful department. Many musicians will be in more than one ensemble, allowing them to gain experience of different music, styles and instrumental combinations. A level and GCSE music are  popular choices, but involvement in ensembles is open to all, whether or not they have opted to pursue the academic subject. The skills and understanding acquired in music are broad, ranging from subject-specific technical knowledge, through the practical aspects of composition and performance, to ‘life-skills’ such as teamwork, self-discipline and motivation.

The department has its own purpose-built facility next to the Layard Theatre, with a concert hall seating a maximum of 300, able to contain the largest ensembles with an acoustic and ambience that suits solo performance and informal concerts. It has a Steinway piano and a three manual digital Allen Organ. There are a range of further teaching, rehearsal and practice rooms.

 

Canford Music YouTube Channel

Enjoy a selection of our latest music performances. Please subscribe to the Canford Music YouTube channel to be notified of upcoming live streams and premieres.

EXPLORE OUR MUSIC YOUTUBE CHANNEL

80%

A* GRADES AT
A LEVEL IN 2022

71%

LEVEL 8 OR 9 GRADES AT GCSE IN 2022

12

DIPLOMAS TAKEN IN THE LAST 3 YEARS, WITH 9 ACHIEVING DISTINCTIONS

15

GRADE 8 MUSIC EXAMS TAKEN LAST YEAR

Canford Music

View Full Music Department Concerts Calendar

February 2024
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Feb 4
Mon, Feb 5
Wed, Feb 7
Thu, Feb 8
Fri, Feb 9
Sat, Feb 10
Sun, Feb 11
Mon, Feb 12
Tue, Feb 13
Wed, Feb 14
Thu, Feb 15
Fri, Feb 16
Sat, Feb 17
Sun, Feb 18
Mon, Feb 19
Tue, Feb 20
Wed, Feb 21
Fri, Feb 23
Sat, Feb 24
Sun, Feb 25
Mon, Feb 26
Tue, Feb 27
Wed, Feb 28
Fri, Mar 1
Sat, Mar 2

Latest Music Images

Salisbury Cathedral Service

Annual Jazz Concert

House Music competition

 

 

 

Academic Music at Canford

Learn more about GCSE Music 

“The idea of working hard for something larger than the present moment is the key skill for material success and I believe it is something that Music couldn't teach you better.”

Canford Musician