Custom Class: header-inner

Custom Class: hero-banner-wrapper

Notable Alumni

Canford aims to prepare pupils for their future lives along whatever path they choose.  Below are just some of the numerous alumni who have moved on to successful careers in a variety of different sectors.   Canford only became fully co-educational in the mid 1990s, which explains why there are currently more men than women on the list below, but as a dynamic record we update it on a regular basis.

Academic, Educational, Church
Rutherford Aris Regents Professor Emeritus S 1943-1946
Prof. Anthony  Bryer Professor of Byzantine Studies, University of Birmingham; Fellow, King's College London C 1951-1955
Iain Campbell Headmaster, King's College, Auckland; England Hockey SH 1941-1946
Edmund Cooke-Yarborough Physicist and WW2 radar and computer pioneer F 1933-1937
Neil Hirst Senior Policy Fellow for Energy and Mitigation at the Grantham Institute, Imperial College London M 1959-1964
John Irwin Keeper, Indian Section, Victoria and Albert Museum M 1931-1935
Very Rev. Henry Lloyd Dean of Truro W 1924-1930
Prof. David Miller Professor of Political Theory, University of Oxford S 1959-1964
Paul Taylor Headmaster, Framlingham College B 1975-1980
Stan Brock Philanthropist, Founder of Remote Area Medical S 1949-1953
David Littman Historian and human rights advocate W 1946-1951
David Sheldrick Anglo-Kenyan Conservationist SH 1934-1935
Armed Forces
Capt. Nicholas Barker Captain of HMS Endurance during the Falklands War C 1947-1951
Second Lieutenant Paul GC Benner Awarded the George Cross C 1948-1953
Sir Christopher Crossley Lieutenant-Commander, Royal Navy C 1945-1949
Rear-Admiral Jeremy De Halpert Naval Commander F 1960-1964
Admiral Sir Ian Garnett Commandant, Royal College of Defence Studies W 1958-1962
General Sir Brian Kenny GOC of British Army of the Rhine M 1947-1952
Hector Maclean Battle of Britain pilot SH 1927-1931
Air Chief Marshal Sir Roger Palin Commander-in-Chief RAF Germany and Second Tactical Air Force SH 1952-1957
Major-General Leo Plummer Colonel Commandant, Royal Artillery F 1937-1941
Rear-Admiral Rodney Sturdee Flag Officer Gibraltar  W 1933-1937
Rear-Admiral John Templeton-Cotill Nato commander, SE Area Mediterranean SH 1934-1939
Arts and Entertainment
Julian Belfrage Impressario and Producer; Actors Agent F 1947-1952
Ian Bradshaw Photographer and winner of the World Press Photo Award SH 1956-1960
Miranda Cooper Singer, songwriter and director of Xenomania W 1991-1993
Sir John Drummond Arts administrator; Controller of BBC Radio 3  B 1948-1952
Giles Duley Photojournalist SH 1985-1990
Anthony Eyton Painter,  Artist in Residence for construction of Eden Project B 1937-1941
Paul Feiler Abstract Artist C 1934-1938
Simon Hilton Music film and video director M 1980-1985
Derek Jarman Painter and film director M 1955-1960
Michael Medwin Actor W 1937-1941
Ore Oduba BBC Sports presenter and winner of Strictly Come Dancing 2016 L 1999-2004
Simon John Preston Organist and composer F 1952-1956
Charles Rawlinson Deputy Chairman, Britten Sinfonia B 1947-1952
Richard Walker Painter SH 1967-1971
Robert Adam Director, Robert Adam Architects M 1961-1965
Peter Dugdale Managing Director, Guardian Royal Exchange plc W 1941-1946
Alan Pearce Greenaway Chairman, Daniel Greenaway & Sons Ltd SH 1927-1931
Sir Ronald Hampel Chairman, ICI plc C 1945-1950
Sir Derek Hornby Chairman, Rank Xerox; Chairman, London and Continental S 1943-1946
Gerald Jackson Managing Director, NCB (Ancillaries) Ltd W 1930-1931
Yvonne Lui Property magnate, philanthropist Ma 1994-1996
Jeremy Mogford Managing Director, Mogford Ltd B 1991-1964
Graham Newman Chairman, Tatham Bromage & Co. Ltd  B 1938-1942
Nicholas Robertson Chief Executive Officer, C 1981-1985
Stephen Rubin Founder of Pentland Industries  B 1951-1955
Timothy Stevenson Chairman, Travis Perkins plc F 1961-1966
Tony Whitehorn President and CEO of Hyundai UK S 1973-1978
Government and Diplomacy
Sir Ashley Bramall Leader of the Inner London Education Authority M 1931-1935
Sir George Clark Senator, Northern Ireland Parliament SH 1928-1931
Rodney Dennys Arundel Herald of Arms Extraordinary W 1925-1928
John Douglas, 21st Earl of Morton Deputy Lieutenant of West Lothian B 1940-1942
Peter Grant Assistant Under-Secretary of State, Home Office SH 1935-1938
Baron Charles Hector Maclean Privy Councillor; 27th Chief of Clan Maclean W 1928-1931
Hector Monro, Baron Monro of Langholm MP for Dumfriesshire 1964-97; life peer C 1936-1941
Stephen Phillips MP for North Hykeham  W 1986-1988
Peter Thomson HM Diplomatic service, High Commander Belize & Seychelles M 1951-1954
Sir Ralph Verney Chairman of the Nature Conservancy Council  F 1929-1935
William Andreae-Jones Recorder of the Crown Court M 1956-1960
Sir Derek Bradbeer President of the Law Society S 1946-1950
Graeme Mcpherson QC; Race horse trainer S 1983-1988
Philip Moor QC; Recorder; Chairman, Family Law Bar Association S 1972-1977
Peter Peddie Adviser to the Governor; Head of Legal Unit, Bank of England  SH 1945-1950
Graham Rose QC; Judge, Queen's Bench; Master of the Supreme Court W 1951-1955
Christopher Sharp QC; Recorder M 1966-1970
Dr James Appleyard President World Medical Association, Consultant Paediatrician W 1949-1954
John Booth Consultant Otolaryngologist S 1951-1956
Ralph Kauntze Consultant Physician Emeritus, Cardiology SH 1935-1929
Stuart Mawson Consultant Surgeon, Ear Nose and Throat W 1931-1937
Basi Henry Page Consultant Surgeon, Urology at North Middlesex Hospital W 1923-1928
David Reeks Reactor Thermal Engineer; Vice Lord-Lieutenant of Lanarkshire W 1948-1953
Sir John Wakeley Consultant Surgeon SH 1940-1944
Tom Allen Harlequins Rugby C 1996-2001
Henry Cecil Internationally renowned race horse trainer F 1956-1960
Anastasia Chitty GB Rowing; Captain of winning Oxford Boat Race crew 2015 B 2007-2012
Ben Gollings England Rugby Sevens  L 1994-1999
Charles Clapp III Rowing - Silver Medal in Los Angeles Olympics, 1984 W 1996-1997
Jon Hardy County Cricketer (Hampshire) B 1974-1979
Ian Elliot GB Rowing VIII, Rome Olympics 1960 SH 1951-1956
Nick Makin Newcastle Falcons F 1992-1997
Felix Organ County Cricketer (Hampshire) SH 2012-2017
Peter Smith England Hockey SH 1939-1944
Brianna Stubbs Lightweight Rower, World U23 Gold medallist 2013, World Senior Gold medallist 2016  L 2007-2009
Stuart Symington County Cricketer (Leicestershire) W 1939-1944
Steve White-Cooper England and Harlequins Rugby  C 1988-1993
Sandy Grant Writer; historian of Botswana F 1950-1955
Robin Harris Writer; journalist B 1961-1965
Alan Hollinghurst Writer; Booker Prize Winner     B 1967-1971
Paul Hyland Writer; poet S 1960-1965
Peter Parker Writer; journalist SH 1968-1973
Mike Randall Editor of the Daily Mail & Sunday Times M 1933-1937